Rail Users Ireland Forum

Go Back   Rail Users Ireland Forum > Irish Rail Customer Service Issues > Intercity and Regional > Dublin Sligo
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unread 21-04-2012, 09:05   #1
wolf99
New to the board
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default Wireless on Sligo line

Hi folks
Recently (ie last fortnight) Ive noticed a wireless network "Free Public WiFi" showing up on sligo-dublin intercities, however Im never able to connect even though it shows good strength signal reception.
The little connecting to network thing goes up and down, then says not connected but still gives the option to disconnect!

If I leave the laptop on, around kilcock/enfield it'll tell me Im connected, but still not able to browse the internet.

Is this some kind of trial, or have others been able to connect on this network?
Ta
wolf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21-04-2012, 09:16   #2
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

It may be another Wi-Fi user, not the train. http://www.techdirt.com/blog/wireles...airports.shtml
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 21-04-2012, 10:02   #3
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,619
Default

Its a well known bug in the way microsoft windows handles searching for networks, it effectively advertises the last network it connected to and other computers thinks its a real network.

The network you are looking for is irishrail-wifi and it will be available on all routes by end 2012
Mark Gleeson is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 22-04-2012, 12:34   #4
wolf99
New to the board
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5
Default

coolio, cheers
wolf99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2012, 22:36   #5
JohnDough
New to the board
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Thumbs down

Still not working got irish rail wifi but still connecting!!!! rubbish so far.
JohnDough is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 12:39   #6
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDough View Post
Still not working got irish rail wifi but still connecting!!!! rubbish so far.
John, what route are you on? What network are you trying to connect to?
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 13:20   #7
comcor
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cork-Dublin, Cork Commuter and occasionally DART and Dublin-Wexford
Posts: 834
Default

There's huge problems with it on the Cork line, mostly as a result of the number of people trying to use it. It was fine when it first started, but now there seem to be 30-40 people per carriage on it between laptops and mobile devices.

Using speed test, it seems that something around 20kbps is par for the course.

You now need to get beyond Limerick Junction before you get anything like a decent service.

One thing I don't understand is that it always seems to be better on Cork-Dublin services than on Dublin-Cork services.

Before significant roll-out on other lines, it would be better if system stability was prioritized.

Last edited by comcor : 23-05-2012 at 10:03.
comcor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 13:30   #8
Thomas J Stamp
Chairman/Publicity
 
Thomas J Stamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Home of Hurling
Posts: 2,708
Default

its piggy-backing onto the 3-NBS system as you go up and down. As someone on that systen living not more than 500m from the Cork line you can move from one end of the kitchen table to the other and lose the signal unless you have a booster box.

during the summer, if it is windy, the hedge can feck up the signal.

so if you are on one side of the track, good-bye signal.
__________________
We are the passengers
Thomas J Stamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 13:37   #9
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,619
Default

The problem is not the onboard equipment, its the same as used elsewhere its

a) Crazy usage levels, Irish Rail's monthly data usage bill is frightening
b) Shockingly bad coverage in places which hurts speed despite carrying 6 3G modems from 3 operators combined with a proper external antenna


I've done some tests of Irish Rail's wifi and managed to get over 6Mb on a train so the tech does work

Last edited by Mark Gleeson : 15-05-2012 at 13:41.
Mark Gleeson is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 14:00   #10
comcor
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cork-Dublin, Cork Commuter and occasionally DART and Dublin-Wexford
Posts: 834
Default

I've had well over 2.5Mbps, so I don't doubt that it's capable of working properly. But once shared, it becomes slower than dial-up.

Perhaps they need to look at locking out more sites and streaming content. Youtube is already blocked, but other video hosting sites aren't. Also, the Apple App Store isn't blocked and that has potential for really eating up bandwidth.
comcor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 17:48   #11
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

Then they need to look at what sites people are using sensibly (news, email) -v- those used ignorantly (video, downloads).
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 19:26   #12
dowlingm
Really Really Regluar Poster
 
dowlingm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,349
Default

If you access a page on VIA Rail's wifi which has youtube or other streaming, the transparent proxy inserts some text and a logo in there to basically say "sorry, you can't stream on our service".
dowlingm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 15-05-2012, 20:04   #13
comcor
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cork-Dublin, Cork Commuter and occasionally DART and Dublin-Wexford
Posts: 834
Default

You get that for YouTube, but as I mentioned, not for other sites that stream video like RTE, BBC or The Guardian. Plus all sorts of large downloads seem allowed.
comcor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 18-05-2012, 20:14   #14
ccos
Member
 
ccos's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kazbegi
Posts: 281
Default

Couldn't they just block flash and whatever apple uses instead, the adds in a lot of sites use it.
ccos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 18-05-2012, 22:52   #15
Colm Moore
Local Liaison Officer
 
Colm Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,442
Default

Hehehe, the whole internet needs to block flash, save perhaps google maps.
__________________
Colm Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23-05-2012, 09:08   #16
JohnDough
New to the board
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm Moore View Post
John, what route are you on? What network are you trying to connect to?
Dublin-Sligo cannot even read emails and signal appears strong enough on irishrailwifi.
JohnDough is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 23-05-2012, 14:12   #17
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,619
Default

As has been posted numerous times, there is a serious bug in the way windows based computers and some other devices display WIFI networks, irishrail-wifi is most likely a ghost, it doesn't exist or is a train partially fitted out but not yet ready for public use

There will be full wifi coverage on all intercity services within the next 2-3 months
Mark Gleeson is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 28-05-2012, 11:48   #18
Thomas J Stamp
Chairman/Publicity
 
Thomas J Stamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Home of Hurling
Posts: 2,708
Default

some posters on twitter this morning have discovered that irish rail wifi uses a uk isp address and so irish media content appears to be blocked - this is on todays 505 ex Cork.
__________________
We are the passengers
Thomas J Stamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28-05-2012, 13:25   #19
Thomas Ralph
IT Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Greenwich, London
Posts: 1,860
Default

I don't think there is anything with geolocation based on Ireland to which someone on a train should properly be wanting access, given that you're not supposed to be streaming stuff.
Thomas Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 28-05-2012, 14:00   #20
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,619
Default

There is supposed to be a block on streaming services to ensure a fail use of the bandwidth available

Originally the IP address was actually in Sweeden
Mark Gleeson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:42.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.