Rail Users Ireland Forum

Go Back   Rail Users Ireland Forum > General Information & Discussion > Rail Users Ireland Canteen
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Unread 03-04-2007, 18:16   #1
Aphfaneire
Regular Poster

Default Are the nurse's right to strike?

Im only a student nurse myself and im currently on an id placement this week so i have no idea how chaotic it is. But it really is insane that the govt doesnt give in to the unions demands. Its putting peoples clerical filing at risk and soon it will be their lives aswell. Its busy enough as it is on the wards, and as a student im limited in what i can do to help. People are pushed to the limit and consultant teams are spread out and sometimes useless. The nurses know the patients, and whats going on. Its insanity that they have to work so much at such a hard job for less than a lot of 9 to 5'ers who do no physical work at all.

From my perspective its mad that im doing the 35 hours they're asking for and im wrecked. The state is also paying for my education to work for those 35 hours and only get enough travel allounance for two weeks (my case anyway). A lot of my fellow students even as first years are allready talking of going to australia and leaving to see the world, and arent even thinking of staying here. Its mad, for the shorter hours to work they need my felow students and i to fill the gaps, aswell as future students on placement. How can they do this if everyone wants to leave?
Unread 03-04-2007, 21:49   #2
Thomas J Stamp
Chairman/Publicity

Well, I'm 100% behind the nurses.

Issues are simple, and it was interesting how many of the callers on liveline sounded like they were ringing form Hawkins House.

You're trained as a nurse. Managment let go filing staff as a cost cutting exercise. Nurses have to do that as well.

Nurses are informed when they sought a raise that no, you really need a degree. They get one, no raise.