Rail Users Ireland Forum

Go Back   Rail Users Ireland Forum > Irish Rail Customer Service Issues > General Irish Rail Discussion
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unread 07-11-2007, 17:52   #1
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Arrow Just Curiosity

There is one thing that Irish Rail have't considered yet when they or the on platform announcements come on. For example the 17:25 service to Gorey they should think about "The next train at platfrom 5 is the 17:25 COMMUTER service to Gorey calling at.... and for 18:35 Rosslare- The next train at platform 5 is the 18:35 INTERCITY service to Rosslare Europort rather than the normal The next train at platform 5 is the 18:35 service to Rosslare Europort. There is no type of train on the announcements just on the timetables would'nt this be helpful to everyone not just vistiors.
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-11-2007, 18:39   #2
StephenM
Regular Poster
 
StephenM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Back using the car due poor service
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithStephen View Post
P.S->There is nothing on the real time for Rosslare Europort on the Iarnrod Eireann website
I didn't think Iarnrod Éireann offered real time for Intercity services?
StephenM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-11-2007, 19:22   #3
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

its the same for the sligo trains. there is a note on the real time (select station) section on the home page stating for DART and Suburban only
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 09:24   #4
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

All trains south of Wicklow are classified as intercity for signaling purposes

The real time system only tracks class D, E and P type trains, inner, outer suburban and DART

No trains to Sligo, Belfast or Rosslare ever appear, it is not possible to track any train south of Bray since the signaling is manual, north of Dundalk is on NIR and beyond Broombridge is still under manual control

Last edited by Mark Gleeson : 08-11-2007 at 09:34.
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 09:41   #5
packetswitch
Member
 
packetswitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 216
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Gleeson View Post
s class D, E and P type trains
Public boards. Translate into English?
packetswitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 09:43   #6
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

class D, E and P type trains, inner, outer suburban and DART
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 11:14   #7
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Arrow

Guys, I just asked whether it would be wise or not to say InterCity or COMMUTER during the on platform anouncements. I would like to see this its not asking for much lets be honest......
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 11:20   #8
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

Its a waste of time and provides no benefit what so ever just means the pa is even longer than before
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 11:32   #9
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Default

Mark Nicest way possible but its just One extra word
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 12:27   #10
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

Trust me you don't want it, ask anyone who travels in the UK where the pa's are prefixed by the train operating companies name its becomes very annoying very quickly

Clear and concise information is what we need and the auto pa system is pretty much bang on
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 12:36   #11
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

TBH from a passenger point of view, I wouldn't care how i got home, I would prefer when I got home and that would mean first train that stops at my station not first commuter or intercity train. The only thing worth noting of those announcements are "the next train at platform x is the xx:xx to XXXXXX callaing at x" as long as my station is mentioned
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 15:11   #12
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

actually regarding information displayed at stations. On the massive destination/arrival board at connolly (above the gates) the following is displayed for the 22.01 Connolly Maynooth

22.00 - Maynooth - 7
Calling at:
Drumcondra
Ashtown
Castleknock
Coolmine
Leixlip
Maynooth

so both the time and stations called at are wrong
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 21:29   #13
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Just arrived at connolly and is now displaying 22.01 maynooth listing all correct stations. Wondering was this thread read mark?
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 21:45   #14
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,669
Default

You would be amazed
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 21:57   #15
Edward Ryan
Regular Poster
 
Edward Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gorey
Posts: 74
Default

I have to agree with Mark. Once the screen displays the the time the stops and the trains ETA that is all you need.

For example the 1335hrs INTERCITY service to Rosslare with a train branded COMMUTER standing at the platform would confuse some passangers!

Ed
Edward Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 22:29   #16
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Arrow

When the Rosslare/Sligo do eventually get the new 22k trains, Then its worth taking into consideration.

Last edited by KSW : 19-11-2007 at 19:08.
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 22:46   #17
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

But why? Does it mean if a commuter train arrives you would rather wait on an intercity train. I really cant see why you would differentiate one from the other. Just take the one that gets you to your destination sooner ?
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 22:55   #18
KSW
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosslare Line
Posts: 600
Default

Im just saying that when your standing on say platform 5 waiting for the Rosslare service would'nt you like to hear that "The next train at platform 5 is the 18:35 InterCity service to Rosslare - so you know its a different type train approaching the platform rather than seeing a COMMUTER coming
KSW is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 23:31   #19
Pierce
New to the board
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Sounds ok!
Pierce is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2007, 23:35   #20
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,812
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithStephen View Post
Im just saying that when your standing on say platform 5 waiting for the Rosslare service would'nt you like to hear that "The next train at platform 5 is the 18:35 InterCity service to Rosslare - so you know its a different type train approaching the platform rather than seeing a COMMUTER coming
It's not the worse of ideas but I do think that there are bigger issues for Connolly such as the lack of Destination Informations Boards.

other than Broombridge, Connolly must be the only station that does not have these information boards that we see at every other station on the Dublin Rail network even maynooth line stations have them!

Can be done about this? Despite the improvements made such as the 3 PIS screens (5/6/7) together at the archway by the lift, people do still get lost looking for their train and I do constantly point poeple at platform 6 to platform 5 where their next dart would run. Connolly next this information as much as anyhere else. They used to be at the junction of platform 4 before you turned into platforms 5/6/7 and also at platforms 6/7 but have been gone for over a year.
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:57.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.