Rail Users Ireland Forum

Go Back   Rail Users Ireland Forum > General Information & Discussion > Up To Date Travel Information
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Unread 02-10-2007, 08:45   #1
eugene
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 132
Default [02-10-07] 8:33 Clonsilla-Docklands Disruption

Seemed to be issues this morning on this train, we were re-routed to Connolly via the Newcomen Curve, first time I had been up this line, interesting they can do that at short notice. Of course imagine Kildare-Connolly services doing this everyday.
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 09:36   #2
eugene
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Just read on boards.ie that there was a "staff" problem this morning at the station? No one turned up to open the station, what a laugh.
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 09:42   #3
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,811
Default

i didn't think there was an 8:33 clonsilla- docklands. there is an 8:32 clonsilla-pearse. are you sure it wasn't the delayed 8:20 clonsilla-docklands?

so i'm guessing in that case, the 9.25 clonsilla-connolly was cancelled this morning?
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 10:12   #4
eugene
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Hi

yes you are correct, 8:33 is the time that train generally makes it to Broombridge where I get on. Not sure about any other delays but I saw the train reversing out of Connolly via the Newcomen curve about 5 minutes after arriving (was on bus going up North Strand)
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 10:19   #5
Edward Ryan
Regular Poster
 
Edward Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gorey
Posts: 74
Default

I take it that there is no night gate at Docklands station? It is scandaless that a service is majorly disrupted because a staff member didnt turn up to open the station. It also shows IE failing to have a spare staff member on stand by. At least they could have sent someone down from Connolly to open the station?

This happened at Gorey about a year ago. I arrived at the station for the 06.45hrs train to find the station in darkness. A fellow passanger had telephoned Arklow station to find out what was going on and Arklow hired a bus in place of the train.

IE seem to be running staff numbers down at stations and this morning at Docklands shows this.

Ed
Edward Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 10:27   #6
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,665
Default

There are no excuses, this kind of thing is happening all too often

There have been problems in Bayside, there was a well known incident in Killarney and there are continued problems with stations all over Dublin

Love to see Barry Kenny get out of this mess
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 10:46   #7
Edward Ryan
Regular Poster
 
Edward Ryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Gorey
Posts: 74
Default

Pointless listening to Barry Kenny he will just spit out more IE propaganda rather than address the issue.

Ed
Edward Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 11:40   #8
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,811
Default

anyone know if its back open now?
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2007, 19:10   #9
Rashers
Really Regular Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 431
Default

These delays seem to have impacted all services through Connolly. I was on a Drogheda-Bray service that was about 5 mins late arriving, and was 10 mins late hitting Connolly. No information as usual, but the screens at the gates showed a sea of red time!
2nd day running of problems on the Northern suburban line
Rashers is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 10:41   #10
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,811
Default

it amazes me that the docklands trains could access connolly platform 7 and not have much impact to services. i thought the reason for docklands was that there was no room at connolly
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 10:59   #11
eugene
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 132
Default

yes it was interesting for me to be on a train going up that curve, I could hear the acceleration of the train, but it made it ok
eugene is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 11:57   #12
Thomas J Stamp
Chairman/Publicity
 
Thomas J Stamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Home of Hurling
Posts: 2,708
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThomasJ View Post
it i thought the reason for docklands was that there was no room at connolly
Yes, but we knew there was room, look at the timetable. There are slots. We said this when advocating the alternative Navan line.
__________________
We are the passengers
Thomas J Stamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 13:28   #13
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,811
Default

yes i suppose so, but in contradicting my last statement would this not mean that platform 7 will be used alot more and as a result northbound and southbound services would be confined to platforms 5 and 6.

and as a result more problems like this

Quote:
These delays seem to have impacted all services through Connolly. I was on a Drogheda-Bray service that was about 5 mins late arriving, and was 10 mins late hitting Connolly. No information as usual, but the screens at the gates showed a sea of red time!
2nd day running of problems on the Northern suburban line
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 13:34   #14
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,665
Default

Well there are spare slots in Connolly if the timetable was correctly prepared
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 21:34   #15
ThomasJ
Member
 
ThomasJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Clonsilla
Posts: 2,811
Default

Would there be enough slots to fill the planned peak hour trains for the dunboyne line as well as the planned extra services for the other lines
ThomasJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2007, 23:40   #16
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,665
Default

No since there is a length issue as well as a track occupancy issue which restricts platform 7 but a lot more than current could be pushed through

Our numbers suggest up to 3 trains per hour would be possible
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2008, 10:26   #17
Mark Gleeson
Technical Officer
 
Mark Gleeson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Coach C, Seat 33
Posts: 12,665
Default

It happened again this morning, no one showed up
Mark Gleeson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:33.


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.